Australia's Chief Medical Officer has declared the multi-country monkeypox (MPX) outbreak a Communicable Disease Incident of National Significance. This means that as of 1 June 2022, MPX became a nationally notifiable disease for six months.

As of 28 July 2022, 45 confirmed and probable cases of MPX were reported in Australia. This includes 25 cases in New South Wales, 16 in Victoria, two in the Australian Capital Territory, one in Queensland and one in South Australia. Before May 2022, MPX had not been identified in Australia.

Monkeypox is a zoonotic viral disease from the same viral family as the variola virus, which causes smallpox. Symptoms can include:

  • a rash (bumps that turn into pimples, blisters or sores)
  • swollen lymph nodes
  • joint pain
  • back pain
  • muscle aches
  • headache
  • fever
  • chills
  • exhaustion.

Health Professionals must discuss suspected cases with the Infectious Diseases Physician on-call, who will involve the Territory Pathology specialist for testing requirements. 

Isolate the patient and ask them to wear a surgical mask while discussing the case. 

For more information, visit the NT Health Alert pageFederal Department of Health monkeypox health alert pageFederal Department of Health monkeypox disease page or contact the RAHC Clinical team.